Body / Energy / Female / Korea / Poet

김혜순 Kim Hyesoon

“There is a specific kind of day when I feel like writing poems. My senses become really sharp, and my whole body reacts to the mother of absence. This day is when I feel as if I am drowning into the abandonment of death. Then, the rhythm of my bare body is the same as my mother tongue. It is in this rhythm where I find sanctity, that I can return to my mother who is everywhere in the universe. Rhythm is a priority above everything else. Energy moves with a flow. The body of poetry is nothing but energy, waves, rhythm. Rhythm gets us naked and exposes our selves completely. Poems are a dance of language that comes out when my body taps into the rhythm of language. Alienation between the content and form happens frequently in my poems because I obstinately carry on dismantling my body, an act you can also call “dismantling delusion.” I think that after I dismantle my female body, I can finally dismantle established lyric poems.” – 김혜순 Kim Hyesoon

Leave a Reply

